Copy, Move & Delete Functionalities

Plamen
Plamen
  • Updated
Feature availability 🛈
✔️ Personal ✔️ Shared ✔️ Suite

Overview

Copy, Move, and Delete allow you to keep your library organized. These functionalities provide additional value as they’re slightly different from those used in Windows File Explorer.  

The most important benefit is that if you’re using them in Connecter, you don’t lose the metadata of the assets. You can use the standard shortcuts: Ctrl+C to Copy, Ctrl+X to Cut, Ctrl+V to Paste, and the Del/Delete button on your keyboard to Delete assets. Check out your extensive list of shortcuts in Connecter

Each of the three functionalities is described below.

Copy

When you copy an asset to a new location, a dialog will appear, asking if you want the assigned metadata copied to the asset in the new location as well. This way, you don’t have to assign the metadata all over again to each copied asset.

Copy Workspace Data dialog.

Connecter gives you different options when copying assets with identical names, as shown below.

Copying Assets dialog.

You can also decide to choose different actions for the assets in а selection. If you need to decide what to do for each asset, we offer you an option for this case. The following dialog will appear, giving you additional information about the asset’s location, dates created and modified, and size. If you want to change its name, you can directly type it in the field below that information.

Copying Image Assets dialog.

You can visually compare image previews in the dialog, or you can run the Compare Images tool (for image asset types), so you can easily choose from the following options:

  • Skip the asset.
  • Replace the asset in the destination folder.
  • Copy and rename the asset. 

If there’s more than one asset with duplicate names, the option “Apply to all remaining conflicting (same-name) assets” comes in handy.

Move

If you drag cataloged assets and drop them to another location, all metadata (custom previews, tags, custom properties, description, etc.) attached to the assets will remain assigned to them in the new location. 

The actual files of the custom previews won’t be moved from one folder to another but will be linked to the asset and will remain assigned to the asset in the new location. Another way to move assets around your library is to Cut and Paste them to a desired location. 

If some assets’ names in the new location are identical to the ones you want to move there, the same dialog shown above will appear, offering you handy options to resolve the conflict.

Moving an asset.

Delete

If you want to delete assets, choose the “Delete” option from the context menu or press the Del/Delete button on your keyboard. A dialog will appear and ask you to confirm this action. If you choose “Yes, Delete,” the assets will be sent to the Recycle Bin.

Delete options.

For assets with assigned custom previews, another option – “Delete Assets and Previews” – appears in the context menu. After confirmation, this option deletes the assets and all custom previews assigned to them. Use the “Delete” option if you need to keep the images assigned as custom previews and delete only the assets.